Almond Flour and cranberry Biscotti

Crunchy, crumbly biscotti with melted chocolate and cranberries are gluten-free treats you don’t want to miss!

biscotti5.png

I’m finally back after a long break from blogging. The weather really struck me pretty hard this time and I was down with severe cold followed by a nasty cough. It took me almost 3 weeks to completely heal. I spent most of my time sipping hot tea, eating soup, porridge and sleeping. Anyway, it feels great to be finally getting back to doing what I love the most.☺️

I absolutely love baking with almond flour/meal. This time I made some delicious biscotti with almond flour and dried cranberries. They were a hit with my husband. They were crispy, crumbly and not overly sweet.

biscotti1.png

Biscotti, derived from ‘Biscoctus‘ in Latin means ‘Twice Cooked’. It’s first shaped into a log or a rectangle and baked once. Then cooled, sliced and baked again.

This was my first time making biscotti and I was thrilled with the outcome. Although I wish, I had baked them a little less. They were a tad bit more brown than a regular biscotti.

Slicing after baking the first time can be a bit tricky. Because the mix has almond flour, it tends to crumble into pieces. Let it cool at least for 40 minutes to an hour. Then gently cut with a sharp knife. Arrange the slices, cut side down and bake further. They are very  delicate, so handle them with care.

biscotti2

Serve it as it is or spread some melted chocolate. I prefer it with the chocolate. The cranberries add a lovely sweet and sour touch that compliments well with chocolate and almond flour.

These store quite well in a air tight container. Make a batch of these and snack along all week with your coffee or tea.

Happy Baking! ☺️

RECIPE:

Total PREP TIME : 1 Hour 40 Mins

Prep PREP TIME : 15 Mins

INGREDIENTS:

  1. Blanched almond flour – 125 Grams
  2. Bi carbonate of soda – ½ Tsp
  3. Salt – a pinch
  4. Egg – 1
  5. Melted butter – 1½ Tbsp
  6. Caster/Granulated Sugar – 2 Tbsp
  7. Vanilla bean paste – ½ Tsp
  8. Dried cranberries – a handful
  9. Melted semi sweet chocolate – to spread over biscotti

METHOD:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C. Line a baking tray with parchment paper.
  2. In a bowl, whisk in a room temperature egg, sugar, melted butter and vanilla bean paste.
  3. Add almond flour, salt and bicarbonate of soda. Mix well. Fold in the dried cranberries.
  4. Place the mixture on the parchment paper and shape into a rectangular loaf (2.5 cm tall, 17 cm long and 10 cm wide).
  5. Bake for 10 – 12 minutes or until brown on top. The center will be soft. Let it rest and cool for 1 hour.
  6. Preheat the oven again to 170°C. Slice the firm loaf with a sharp knife, about ½ inches thick.
  7. Arrange the slices on the tray. Bake on one side for 5 minutes or until bottom turns light brown. Flip and bake for another 3 minutes.
  8. Gently remove the tray from the oven and let them cool.
  9. Dip the biscotti in melted semi sweet chocolate or spread the chocolate over the biscotti.

ENJOY!

biscotti4.png

Similar recipes :

Almond Coconut Mini Cookies

Double Chocolate Avocado Muffins

Almond Blueberry Muffins

What to eat when in Italy

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Jyo says:

    Perfect with my tea…I justtt love these😊👍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. chef mimi says:

    You did good! And they’re so pretty. I’ve always found that a serrated knife works best with biscotti.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Mimi. That’s very reassuring. ☺️ I was able to neatly slice using a sharp knife without any cracks or pieces. I was so delighted!

      Like

  3. Recipettes says:

    Absolute biscotti love! 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks ooey-gooey delish!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. ❤️ Everything just tastes so much better with chocolate. ☺️

      Like

  5. Bernice says:

    Fantastic! I adore Almond Flour! 💕 💕 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too! It’s my new favorite ingredient. ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Looks perfect n delish 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you so much. They were really yum. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  7. shabnam ahmad says:

    i baked its so good but am missing the crispyness also can you give me carb count please. thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Shabnam. The overall carb count would be approximately around 76 grams.

      Like

Leave a comment